The Nansen Refugee Award 2011

The winner of this year’s Nansen Refugee Award is the Society for Humanitarian Solidarity (SHS) of Yemen.

Photo: Norwegian Refugee Council
Staff from the Society for Humanitarian Solidarity rescue refugees and migrants who travelled to
Yemen on a smuggler's boat. August 2011, Al Ghabir, Yemen.
Photo: Ramsi photography, Yemen 2011
The Award recognizes the staff of SHS for their “dedicated service to providing life-saving assistance to thousands of refugees and migrants who arrive on the shores of Yemen every year” after crossing the Gulf of Aden by boat. 

The Nansen Refugee award

The Nansen Refugee Award was established in 1954 in honour of Fritdjof Nansen, a Norwegian, scientist, explorer and statesman and the first League of Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.The award is given annually to an individual or organization for outstanding work on behalf of refugees. It includes a $100,000 prize that the winner can donate to a cause of his or her choice.